Meet the Judges - Awards for Excellence 2023

Regulation Asia prides itself on conducting a thorough awards review process. To complement the work of our editorial and research teams, we have selected a number of senior industry participants to serve on a judging panel to help during the review process. Our selection takes into account their involvement in the regulatory compliance domain, along with their exposure to the technology and services firms, in most cases having first hand experience from a practitioner’s perspective.

We would like to thank our esteemed judges for their participation in this year’s awards.

2023 Judges

Douglas Arner
Kerry Holdings Professor in Law
The University of Hong Kong

Victor Edward Apps


Asia Pacific BCMA Financial Crime Lead

Debra Au

Managing Director, Head of Legal

Compliance & Secretariat, HK & China
DBS Bank

CG Balasubramaniam
Senior Risk and Compliance Professional & Independent Consultant

Boon-Hiong Chan
Head of Fund Services Product Management
Deutsche Bank

Grace Chong
Head of Financial Regulatory
Gibson Dunn

Bill Coen
Former Secretary General – Basel Committee on Banking Supervision
Bank for International Settlements

Natalie Curtis
Herbert Smith Freehills

Dawd Haque
Market Initiatives, Regulatory Transformation & Strategy
Deutsche Bank

John Ho
Head, Legal, Financial Markets
Standard Chartered Bank

Chris Holland

Kriti Jain
APAC Head for New Economy, Fintechs and Platforms
Deutsche Bank

Philip Keller
Wealth Strategy & Transformative Projects Expert

Avatar_Ave King

Ave King
Head of Compliance APAC

Angelina Kwan
Managing Director
Stratford Finance Limited

Prof. Lapman Lee
Asia Climate & ESG Value Proposition Leader,
Insurance Consulting & Technology
Willis Towers Watson

Irene Liu
Managing Director
Digital Finance, Risk, Regulatory and Compliance (Southeast Asia)

Derek McGibney
Managing Director, Founder
Cognitive GRC

Mark Nuttall
Director of Risk Solutions (APAC & MENA)
Thomson Reuters

Sarthaka Nanda
Regulatory and Risk Transformation program expert

Justin Ong
Deloitte Asia Pacific

Siddhant Sahai

Avatar_Kalpana Seethepali

Kalpana Seethepali
Director of ESG – Asia Pacific
Deutsche Bank

Guy Sheppard
COO Financial Services
Aboitiz Data Innovation

Kristi Swartz
DLA Piper

Mervyn Tang
Head of Sustainability Strategy, APAC

Avatar_Will Tully

Will Tully
Regional Head of Fraud
(Wealth & Private Banking)

Martin James Wallis
Chief Operating Officer

Brian Tang 
Founder, LITE Lab@HKU &
ACMI Managing Director
Fintech Association of Hong Kong

TK Yap 
Group Chief Transformation Officer
CGS-CIMB Securities